Slice

The Detroit Metro Area's Top 25 Pizzas

20090828-supino-freep.jpg

[Credit: Detroit Free Press]

In May Alan Richman dropped his Top 25 Pizza List in GQ magazine and in a related story somewhat counterintuitively declared Detroit the No. 3 pizza city in the U.S. The Detroit Free Press now seems to be reacting to the pizza spotlight—a little late but better than never.

What's interesting, though, is that the Freep story focuses not on the Sicilian style that Richman praised as being "flawlessly executed" consistently throughout the region but on the up-and-coming pizzerias in the Motor City. The paper rounds up 25 places to check out. View the list, after the jump.

For people who like hard-and-fast ranking, the list may come as a small disappointment. Supino Pizzeria seems to come in at No. 1, but thereafter the pizzerias are listed in alphabetical order. That doesn't bother me so much; if I lived in Detroit, I'd want to check them all out regardless. [Hat tip to everyone who emailed me this link yesterday!]

Detroit Free Press's Top 10 Pizzerias

Supino Pizzeria: 2457 Russell, Detroit MI; 313-567-7879; supinopizza.com

Amici's: 3249 Twelve Mile, Berkley MI; 248-544-4100; amicispizza.com

Buddy's: 31646 Northwestern, Farmington Hills MI; 248-855-4600; buddyspizza.com

Cloverleaf Bar & Restaurant: 24443 Gratiot, Eastpointe MI; 586-777-5391; cloverleafrestaurant.com

Dan Good Pizza: 35346 Twenty-three Mile Road, New Baltimore MI; 586-716-7770; www.dangoodpizza.com">dangoodpizza.com

DiNoto's Genuine Italian: 20223 Mack, Grosse Pointe Woods MI; 313-884-5030; dinotos.com

Green Lantern Lounge: 28960 John R, Madison Heights MI; 248-541-5439; greenlanternlounge.com

Luigis Original Restaurant: 36691 Jefferson, Harrison Township MI; 586-468-7711; luigisoriginal.com

Shield's: 1476 W. Maple, Troy MI; 248-637-3131; shieldspizza.com

Tomatoes Apizza: 29275 Fourteen Mile, Farmington Hills MI; 248-855-3555; tomatoesapizza.com

The Rest of the Top 25 Detroit Pizzerias

Aubree's Pizzeria & Tavern: 2122 Whittaker, Ypsilanti MI; 734-483-1525; aubrees.com

Brooklyn Pizza: 111 Henrietta, Birmingham MI; 248-258-6690; brooklynpizza.biz

Compari's On the Park: 350 S. Main Street, Plymouth MI; 734-416-0100; comparisdining.com

Cottage Inn: 512 East William Street, Ann Arbor MI; 734-663-3379; cottageinn.com

Crust Pizza & Wine Bar: 6622 Telegraph, Bloomfield Township MI; 248-855-5855; crustpizza.net

Frank's Restaurant & Pizzeria: 3144 Biddle, Wyandotte MI; 734-282-0512

Fresh Farms Market: 355 Fisher Road, Grosse Pointe MI; 313-882-5100; freshfarmsmarket.com

Georgio's Pizza & Pasta: 117 S. Main Street, Rochester MI; 248-601-2882; georgiospizzaandpasta.net

Jet's Pizza: 30120 Southfield Road, Southfield MI; 248-645-5387; jetspizza.com

Loui's Pizza: 23141 Dequindre, Hazel Park MI; 248-547-1711

Pizza Cutter: 340 N. Center, Northville MI; 248-348-3333; pizzacutters.com

Pizza Papalis: 4036 Telegraph, Bloomfield Township MI; 248-540-7722; pizzapapalis.com

Primo's Pizza: 10100 W. Nine Mile, Oak Park MI; 248-399-9400

Rosie O'Grady's: 30400 Twenty-three Mile, Chesterfield Township MI; 586-421-1962; 4rosieogradys.com

Sportsman's Pizzeria: 2425 Fort, Wyandotte MI; 734-284-6770

Printed from http://slice.seriouseats.com/archives/2009/08/the-detroit-metro-areas-top-25-pizzas.html

© Serious Eats